Every Song Ever Sounds Like The Plane Ride To Turkey

In exactly one week, I’ll be on a plane to Turkey (err… NYC –> Paris–> Istanbul –> Denizli). So, needless to say, I’m freaking out a bit. And I’m really excited. And I’m totally oblivious to the fact that this is actually happening. 

Last night I said goodbye to one of my best friends. We saw an awful horror movie in theaters (and the whole room was cracking up. It was my first in-theater horror, but I’m pretty sure that’s not what’s supposed to happen), drank cheap 7-11 coffee, and talked.

My whole life, I’ve imagined both the future and scenes from the past (okay, occasionally the present) as a scene in a movie. Imagining my conversation with Ashley, I would have guessed it would be something along the lines of Winona Ryder’s final reconciliation with her world at the end of Girl, Interrupted. I was really wrong. We just talked. And it was so much nicer than any orchestral piece, fancy lighting, or oscar winning actors could ever capture. It was normal, and there’s nothing better than that.

Of course, I’m not all nerves. As you could guess from my last post and the beginning of this one, there is some terror. But, it’s not all terror! There’s the shopping for clothing, outlet converters, and shiny new cameras. There’re the parties. There’re the friends coming out of the woodwork. But, above all else, there’s the fact that I was given a full scholarship to live in Turkey for a year, which has been my dream for as long as I can remember. I am finally becoming the person I’m supposed to be, and it’s all thanks to YES abroad. I’m elated.

This is really crazy. I just can’t stress how crazy this is. 

So, now I can explain the title of this post. Every song I listen to, I can’t help but to visualize listening to it while watching Oregon’s mountains and trees disappear. This means the happy songs, the mournful songs, the upbeat songs, the songs that just sort of don’t make sense. This means the random banjo music playing in the Geico ad. Every emotion the human body is capable of feeling is exactly the right emotion to describe me right now. And you know what? It’s pretty freaking awesome. 

3 thoughts on “Every Song Ever Sounds Like The Plane Ride To Turkey

  1. This post made me want to give you two book recommendations. They both have to do with emotions and music. One is “The Survival Kit” by Donna Freitas and the other is “Sing you Home” by Jodi Picoult. Are you taking a Kindle or other digital reader with you?

    Davan was definitely feeling the same way about music before she left!

Leave a comment